top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEstefanny

Watson

Updated: May 6, 2018

This project is about websockets. Using IBM Cloud Services, formerly known as Bluemix, I will create the Watson that will

1) Translate speech to text

2) Detect a command to translate a phrase to French and play it back

3) Add another command to launch an application.





The professor provided an initial portion of the code and we had to complete the above tasks. To start off I had to create an account with IBM in order to get the credentials necessary for the requests. After unsuccessfully trying to begin my project in pycharm, i was not able to bring in any of the libraries. I assumed this was due to not properly setting up the environment. I looked up possible solutions but none of them worked. My second option was to work through IDLE and with the command prompt i was able to bring in all of the packages, which are the requests, pyaudio, and ws4py. I also was not able to get the provided audio files to work in my project, so I downloaded three new audio files to fill in for the greeting, sure and goodbye. The main part that I worked in was the header. I had to add in my credentials for the different sections of speech to text, translation and opening a new application(I chose to launch the file explorer).

This is the header edited. The missing part are my credentials for authorization from IBM.


In order to get to launch another application I had to add an if statement similar to the other ones so I just copied the other ones and added a few more lines and deleted some other ones.

After every few lines of codes I added, i tested Watson. It was very difficult to get it to work with the words there, so I changed one of them to ´done´. After completing all of the code and testing it again, it only took a couple of tries to get it to work.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page